Selling online since 2008!

Welcome to BooksAgain!

Lewis Carroll in Numberland: His Fantastical Mathematical Logical Life (No Dustjacket)

BookBucks Review and collect 20 points.

A penetrating work that explores the amazing imagination and mathematical genius of the man who wrote Alice's Adventures in Wonderland. Just when we thought we knew everything about Lewis Carroll, here comes a highly original biography that will appeal to Alice fans everywhere. Fascinated by the inner life of Charles Lutwidge Dodson, Robin Wilson, a Carroll scholar and a noted mathematics professor, has produced this revelatory book?filled with more than one hundred striking and often playful illustrations?that examines the many inspirations and sources for Carroll's fantastical writings, mathematical and otherwise. As Wilson demonstrates, Carroll?who published serious, if occasionally eccentric, works in the fields of geometry, logic, and algebra?made significant contributions to subjects as varied as voting patterns and the design of tennis tournaments, in the process creating imaginative recreational puzzles based on mathematical ideas. In the tradition of Sylvia Nasar's A Beautiful Mind and Andrew Hodges's Alan Turing, this is an engaging look at the incredible genius of one of mathematics' and literature's most enigmatic minds."No dustjacket, "

Sign up for price alert Sign up to get notified when this product is back in stock

Availability: Out of stock

ZAR46.00

Details

A penetrating work that explores the amazing imagination and mathematical genius of the man who wrote Alice's Adventures in Wonderland. Just when we thought we knew everything about Lewis Carroll, here comes a highly original biography that will appeal to Alice fans everywhere. Fascinated by the inner life of Charles Lutwidge Dodson, Robin Wilson, a Carroll scholar and a noted mathematics professor, has produced this revelatory book?filled with more than one hundred striking and often playful illustrations?that examines the many inspirations and sources for Carroll's fantastical writings, mathematical and otherwise. As Wilson demonstrates, Carroll?who published serious, if occasionally eccentric, works in the fields of geometry, logic, and algebra?made significant contributions to subjects as varied as voting patterns and the design of tennis tournaments, in the process creating imaginative recreational puzzles based on mathematical ideas. In the tradition of Sylvia Nasar's A Beautiful Mind and Andrew Hodges's Alan Turing, this is an engaging look at the incredible genius of one of mathematics' and literature's most enigmatic minds."No dustjacket, "

Additional Info

Author Robin Wilson
Publisher W.W. Norton & Co.
Place London
Year 2008-11-17
ISBN 9780393060270
Binding Hardcover
Condition Very Good
Comments No dustjacket,

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.